Hospital Association Elects 2018 Officers and Board Members

Posted on June 28, 2018

Members of the Michigan Health & Hospital Association (MHA) elected new officers and appointed board members during the association’s Annual Membership Meeting June 28. Officers of the 2018 MHA Board of Trustees include Gregory R. Lane, chair; John Fox, chair-elect; and Edwin Ness, treasurer. The board directs the greater Lansing-based association’s statewide representation of hospitals and healthcare providers.

Lane, executive vice president and chief administrative officer, McLaren Health Care, Flint, will serve as chairman during the association’s 2018-2019 program year beginning July 1. The terms of service of Fox, president, Beaumont Health, Southfield, and Ness, president and CEO, Munson Healthcare, Traverse City, will also span the 2018-2019 program year. Loren Hamel, MD, president and CEO, Lakeland Health, St. Joseph, will serve as immediate past chairman.

Joseph Cacchione, MD, president, Ascension Medical Group, and interim ministry market executive, Ascension Michigan, Warren, was appointed as an at-large member to the board for a three-year term. Additionally, Robert Riney, president, Healthcare Operations and chief operating officer, Henry Ford Health System, Detroit, and Tina Freese Decker, executive vice president and chief operating officer, Spectrum Health, Grand Rapids, were reappointed as at-large trustees for three-year terms.

Additional members of the 2018-2019 MHA Board of Trustees include Duke Anderson, president and CEO, Hillsdale Hospital; Daniel Babcock, CEO, Marlette Regional Hospital; Edward Bruff, president and CEO, Covenant HealthCare, Saginaw; Rob Casalou, president and CEO of Mercy Health in western Michigan and Saint Joseph Mercy Health System in southeast Michigan; T. Anthony Denton, senior vice president and chief operating officer, University of Michigan Health System, Ann Arbor; James “Chip” Falahee Jr., senior vice president, legal & legislative affairs, Bronson Healthcare Group, Kalamazoo; David Jahn, president and CEO, War Memorial Hospital, Sault Ste. Marie; Timothy J. Johnson, CEO, Eaton Rapids Medical Center; Charles Nelson, Regional CEO, Aspirus Upper Peninsula, Laurium; Diane Postler-Slattery, president and CEO, MidMichigan Health, Midland; Anthony Tedeschi, MD, CEO, Detroit Medical Center; Ginger Williams, MD, president and CEO, Oaklawn Hospital, Marshall; and Shelleye Yaklin, president and CEO, North Ottawa Community health System. In addition, Brian Peters was reappointed to serve an indefinite term of office as CEO of the association.

Tags: Board of Trustees, annual meeting, officers, Greg Lane, John Fox, Edwin Ness

Posted in: News Releases

MHA Updates Delivered to You

Subscribe to the MHA Monday Report weekly newsletter or our podcast, the MiCare Champion Cast, to keep informed about the latest healthcare news and events in Michigan.

MHA Monday Report
Contact us to subscribe

MiCare Champion Cast
iTunes | SoundCloud

Media Inquiries

Contact the MHA at
(517) 703-8601

Read the MHA policy on publication via MHA media.

MHA 100 Year Anniversary

Watch the video »